Day of German Unity

October 2016

The official unification of the German Democratic Republic (FDR) and the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) took place on 3 October 1990. The emerging new Federal Republic of Germany included five newly re-established areas of the former GDR: Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Upper Pomerania, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia and Berlin. In accordance with the Moscow Agreement of 12 September 1990, the new FRG - the united Germany - received full sovereignty in its domestic and foreign policy.